Arts Council Recognizes Applause Award WinnersAwardees Honored at Annual Holiday Glitter

The Arts Council of Greater Lansing is pleased to announce its 2016 Applause Award winners. This year’s recipients include East Lansing Arts Commission who received the Civic Leadership Award; The Greater Lansing Convention and Visitors Bureau who received the Business Leadership Award; and Julie Pingston who received the Ted Sondag Individual Leadership Award. Awards were also presented to Chad Badgero; Allen Neighborhood Center; Keys to Creativity and Laura Weber-Gajewski.

The Arts Council has presented its Applause Awards for the past 32 years, growing the program in recent years to honor more awardees in more categories. This year’s recipients were recently recognized at the Arts Council’s 37th Annual Holiday Glitter event held on Dec. 6, 2016 at the University Club of MSU and each was presented with a beautiful handcrafted glass award created by Craig Mitchell Smith Glass.

“We were very excited to present this year’s awards,” says Arts Council Executive Director Deborah E. Mikula. “Holiday Glitter is the perfect forum for honoring our awardees as we have patrons and guests from all across the community in attendance, so they receive the widespread recognition they deserve.”

The Applause Awards program was created to acknowledge those community members who are engaging in creative endeavors and advocating for and supporting arts, culture and creativity in Greater Lansing.

"We are so proud to honor these individuals and businesses who are making a difference in their communities through the arts,” Mikula says. “Their dedication and passion help put creativity at the forefront in strengthening and growing our cities and communities, and we are so fortunate to have them in our region."

Founded in 1965, the Arts Council of Greater Lansing exists to support, strengthen and promote arts, culture and creativity in the capital region. For more information, visit